New website

Standard

Hi everyone,

As you may have noticed, I’ve recently updated my website to a wordpress-based one. This should inspire more frequent updates from me! Please don’t be alarmed by the fact that the urls are mysteriously labelled ‘the cunning plan’ – some other Alison Rowley beat me to a more sensible choice of username! (The Cunning Plan is, of course, the name of the ceilidh band I direct.)

I’ll leave you with the news that the last couple of weeks have been satisfyingly busy ones – May Week in Cambridge is always a good excuse to return to the city and play/call for ceilidhs at silly times of the morning (4am for me this year, two nights in a row!), and this weekend’s Essex Concert Orchestra concerts went down very well. (My grandma certainly seemed to enjoy waving her flag in the Fantasia of British Sea Songs.)

Other highlights for me include playing the 1st movement of Bach’s Double Violin Concerto (2nd violin solo) with the Woolmer Music Group at Horndon Feast & Fayre whilst being subtly attacked by tiny black thunderbugs, running a slightly noisy folk music workshop for 2-7 year olds at the Sunshine Child Festival in Thanet, and getting the chance to watch Blazin’ Fiddles in Cambridge last Saturday – the first time I’d seen any of them play since Taransay Fiddle Camp three years ago.

Now I’m looking forward to a week of teaching, gigging and picnicking, in Essex, London, Kent and Cambridgeshire!

Alison

Leave a Reply

